Business analysts help companies analyze their products, services, processes, and systems to improve current processes and make profitable decisions through insights and analysis. Successful business analysts possess data skills, business understanding, and the ability to communicate their side of things outside of IT to the stakeholders. A business analyst also helps organizations document business processes by assessing their business model.

It is a lucrative career path, and there are a few business analyst courses available in the market for individuals. Following are the top picks:


Certified Analytics Professional (CAP)

CAP certification is a vendor-neutral certification that validates a candidate’s ability to get valuable insights from a complex set of data and help in making strategic business decisions. A master’s degree is required to qualify for the exam with five years of relevant work experience in data and analytics or a bachelor’s degree with seven years of relevant work experience. A candidate can also apply for a CAP exam with a master’s degree and three years of relevant work experience.

Also read, Top 15 Business Analyst Interview Questions for 2021

Entry-Level Certificate in Business Analysis (ECBA)

The International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA) offers a three-tier certification in business analysis. The Entry Level Certificate in Business Analysis (ECBA) is the first of those levels. This certification is designed for less experienced and entry-level business analysts. A minimum of 21 hours of professional training is required in the past four years to qualify for the exam,


Certification of Competency in Business Analysis (CCBA)

The second level of certification by IIBA is CCBA. This exam requires 3,750 hours of business analytics work aligned to IIBA’s Business Analysis Book of Knowledge (BABOK) guide in the past seven years, 900 hours in two of six knowledge areas in BABOK, or 500 hours in four of six knowledge areas of BABOK. The exam also requires 21 hours of professional development training in the past four years and two professional references. It covers fundamentals, underlying competencies, key concepts, and all six BABOK knowledge areas.

Also read, Value vs Growth Stocks – Which one to choose in 2021?

Certified Business Analysis Professional (CBAP)

CBAP is the third level and the highest level of certification offered by IIBA. There is a requirement of 7,500 hours of business analyst work experience in the past ten years, 900 hours of work experience within four of the six knowledge areas of BABOK, at least 35 hours of professional development in the past four years along with two professional references. After passing the exam, a candidate must report at least 60 hours of continuing development units every three years.

Agile Analysis Certification (AAC)

AAC is a competency-based certification offered by IIBA. This is a separate certification by IIBA and is not related to the other three certifications. The AAC was designed to certify business analysts working in agile environments which require fast adaptation and rapid change. There are no eligibility requirements to take the AAC exam, but IIBA recommends at least 2 to 5 years of agile-related experience. The certification lasts for three years, after which it has to be renewed.

Professional in Business Analysis (PBA)

PBA is offered by the Project Management Institute (PMI). There is a requirement of at least three years or 4,500 hours of experience in business analysis within the past eight years with a bachelor’s degree. Without a bachelor’s degree, five years or 7,500 hours of experience is required. Sixty professional development units need to be earned within three years of completing the certification to maintain the renewal status.

Also read, Things You Should Know About Brybe Freelancing Marketplace & Its Monetization 

Certified Foundation Level Business Analyst (CFLBA)

The International Qualification Board offers CFLBA for Business Analysts (IQBBA). This is the first of three levels of certification. The second level is called Certified Advanced Level Business Analyst (CALBA), and the third level is called Certified Expert Level Business Analyst (CELBA). CFLBA is a globally recognized certification designed for people involved in analyzing business processes, modeling businesses, and process improvement.

Certified Professionals for Requirements Engineering (CPRE)

CPRE is offered by the International Requirements Engineering Board (IREB). The certification is offered at three levels and is designed for people working in Requirement Engineering. There are three paths that a candidate can take after completing the first level, which is Requirement Elicitation and Consolidation, Requirements Modelling, and Requirement Management.